Film Matters is an exciting film magazine, celebrating the work of undergraduate film scholars. It is published three times a year, by students and for students, and each issue contains feature articles, as well as a healthy reviews section. In addition, with an undergraduate audience in mind, Film Matters will include occasional service-oriented pieces, such as profiles of film studies departments, articles that engage the undergraduate film studies community and prepare students for graduate study in this field, and resources and opportunities that undergraduate scholars can pursue. In an effort to give undergraduate scholars real-world, applied learning experiences, all Film Matters feature submissions will undergo a peer review process (typically managed by undergraduate film and media students).

The views and opinions of all posts, including reviews and interviews, are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent or reflect those of the editors, the editorial board, or the advisory board.

Film Matters is published by Intellect with support from the University of North Carolina Wilmington.


Liza Palmer, University of North Carolina Wilmington, USA
palmerl AT uncw.edu

Tim Palmer, University of North Carolina Wilmington, USA
palmert AT uncw.edu

Videographic Essay Editors

  • Allison de Fren
  • Adam Hart
  • Christina Petersen
  • Maurizio Viano

Assistant Editor

Megan Dawkins

Advisory Board

  • Christine Becker, University of Notre Dame, USA
  • Colin Burnett, Washington University in St. Louis, USA
  • Kelley Conway, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
  • Aaron Han Joon Magnan-Park, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Kristi McKim, Hendrix College, USA
  • Alastair Phillips, University of Warwick, UK
  • Ryan Prout, Cardiff University, UK
  • Christopher Sieving, University of Georgia, USA
  • Katherine Spring, Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada
  • Frank P. Tomasulo, Pace University, USA
  • Jonathan Walley, Denison University, USA
  • Guy Westwell, Queen Mary University of London, UK
  • Scott Wilson, Unitec Institute of Technology, New Zealand

Editorial Board, Spring 2018

  • Noah Campagna
  • J. Felix Carlson
  • Joseph Day
  • Alexis Dickerson
  • Adam Fackelman
  • Lily C. Frame
  • Sean Froeb
  • Paige Marsicano 
  • Andrew P. Nielsen
  • Ashley R. Pickett
  • J. Javier Ramirez
  • Ashley R. Spillane
  • William P. Sullivan
  • Ryan Wentz

Videographic Essay Editorial Board (Issue 1)

  • Faculty advisors
    • Tracy Cox-Stanton
    • Corey Creekmur
    • Patrick Keating
    • Christina Petersen
    • Michael Talbott
    • Maurizio Viano
  • Undergraduate editors
    • Ariana Brinckerhoff
    • César Martínez
    • Matthew O’Connell
    • Dana Stopler

Past Editorial Boards