Masoud Yazdani Award

Masoud Yazdani

The Masoud Yazdani Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Film Scholarship honors Masoud Yazdani, founder and publisher of Intellect, who died in 2014.  Masoud was a passionate champion of Film Matters and — by extension — undergraduate scholars. This book award is given annually to a Film Matters author who has published a peer-reviewed feature article during the previous volume year; feature authors are automatically considered for this award by an independent panel of judges (active instructors at higher education institutions).  The winning author receives a book from the field of film studies, in recognition of his/her achievement.

Past Masoud Yazdani Award Winners


Winner: Ouma Amadou, “Constructing (Black) Girlhood: Americanization, Assimilation, and Ambivalence” (FM 7.3, 2016)
Book Prize: John Hill and Pamela Church Gibson, eds., The Oxford Guide to Film Studies (Oxford University Press, 1998)
Judges: Kelli Fuery (Chapman University), Travis Merchant (Wake Tech Community College), David Resha (Oxford College of Emory University)


Winner: Nace Zavrl, “Spectatorship and Synchronous Sound Before the Transition: A Contextual Analysis of Chronophone, Phonofilm, and Movietone Shorts” (FM 6.3, 2015)
Book Prize: Miriam Hansen, Babel and Babylon: Spectatorship in American Silent Film (Harvard University Press, 1994)
Judges: Frederic Leveziel (University of South Florida St. Petersburg), Tom Ue (University of Toronto), Johnny Walker (Northumbria University)


Winner: Christina Newland, “Archetypes of the Southern Gothic: The Night of the Hunter and Killer Joe” (FM 5.1, 2014)
Book Prize: Valeria Belletti, Adventures of a Hollywood Secretary: Her Private Letters from Inside the Studios of the 1920s (University of California Press, 2006)
Judges: Michael Benton (Bluegrass Community and Technical College), Stephen Charbonneau (Florida Atlantic University), Scott Wilson (Unitec Institute of Technology)